To all,
Ruling on embedded ball.
An enquiry came through regarding a ruling on embedded balls. Particularly relevant at the moment so thank you for the opportunity.
The ruling from R&A is that:-
Free relief is available when a ball can be (but does not have to be) determined as embedded if any part of the ball is below the ground (as opposed to below the level of the grass). Free relief is available when the ball is in the "General area" which is anywhere on the course that is NOT the green, a bunker, a hazard, or a teeing area. Free relief consists of a drop within one club length no nearer the hole once the ball has been marked, cleaned (if you wish) and the drop zone determined. You may clean the ball in this situation owing to the rule "Cleaning the ball" which states "cleaning is not allowed, unless you then take relief under a Rule". You are taking relief under a Rule therefore you may clean the ball in the process. I would stand corrected on this?
On the green? - You always have the option of marking, lifting, repairing the plug mark, and replacing the ball. No problems here.
Otherwise take advantage of the temporary Local Rules for your own fairway with one club length placing or through the green with a "mark, lift, clean, replace as close as possible" rule.
Regards,
Dave and Lynda
|